two weeks in

We’ve passed the two-week mark in the challenge, so here’s a quick update on how things are going.  We haven’t had any major malfunctions with vegetarianism—it’s actually been pretty cool that so far we haven’t had to make any huge changes to our diets.  I will admit that going to Steak ‘n Shake and not getting a burger was pretty damn difficult, but the milkshakes are still delicious.  Boca Burgers are definitely growing on me—so much so that we haven’t yet bothered to try any different brands of veggie burgers.  The other night for dinner I made this salad, which was damn delicious:


I’m going to be bummed when Honeycrisp apples disappear from the grocery stores soon, because this salad was one of the best I’ve ever made: spinach and spring mix, walnuts, Honeycrisp apples, this AMAZING honey-Chevre cheese from Trader Joe’s, carrots, and a honey vinaigrette.  Ryan approved as well.  This is relevant because this is definitely the type of salad I would have put apple-wood-smoked bacon on in the past—for what reason other than bacon is delicious, I’m not really sure, because this salad stands on its own pretty well.  I guess I’m still having a hard time removing the indoctrinated idea that meat=protein=necessary for your existence.  I know it’s not true, and I know humans eat way more protein than their bodies actually need, but it’s hard to get rid of some of the crap that you’ve been hearing all your life.  So far I’d say we’ve been doing pretty okay with the vegetarianism.

For charity: Ryan’s doing his thing and has updated about it.  I just got a confusing letter about my merit raise and I still have no idea how much money I’m making this year, but as soon as I do, I’ll figure out what 2% will be and post about where I decide to make my first donation.  Our friend has brought up some really good criticisms of Médecins Sans Frontières so I’m considering a different option.

Recycling: Nothing really to say about this, but our IKEA bags are working fabulously and we’re due to make a recycling trip soon-ish.  I will say that we got pretty angry about finding a new telephone book outside of our door this afternoon.  I need to figure out whether or not there’s a way to opt out of receiving a phone book in the future, because they are fucking worthless and they just go straight into the recycling bin.

Volunteering: I haven’t heard anything from 4-H yet (today was a holiday), and their application did mention that they would check all of my references.  I’ll give them a week before I contact someone and ask about the status of my application.  I’m chomping at the bit to start volunteering so I may go forward with the DCAP if 4-H takes their sweet time.

We’re sailing toward the end of our first month of ethical living and we haven’t hit any major roadblocks yet: I’d say so far the project has been pretty successful.  More updates to follow!

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “two weeks in

  1. Swim-tastic! says:

    You can opt out of receiving phone books – I remember when we moved to SC and I was trying to get a phone book (because it actually is helpful when you have no clue about anything in the city in which you reside) that I could either request a copy or opt out. That info should be somewhere towards the front of the book.

    I did a quick google search and it yielded this result: http://www.yellowpagesoptout.com/

    I don’t know if it works or not, but worth a shot at least!

Comment

