chipotle: a belated review

A belated review of Chipotle–with pictures!

PROS: It was delicious.

Maybe I was just really hungry, but Jesus, the vegetarian bowl at Chipotle is damn good.  My bowl had: white rice, black beans (N.B. the pinto beans have fucking pork in them, I was NOT making that mistake again or at least not making it on my second before-class dinner attempt), all four of their salsas (I especially like the one with corn), cheese, and guacamole ($1.00 extra).  Again, I’m shilling for a corporate chain conglomerate here I realize, but this meal was, as my kids say, fire.  This was the result after a few minutes:

Finally, the meal was prepared extremely quickly, even compared to Panera Bread (who I believe use bacon grease or deer blood to speed up their preparations).

CONS: The price was, again, a bit much, clocking in at about $10.50.  (Why do restaurants charge so much for drinks these days?  Seriously, I would eat just about anything and pay just about any price if the restaurant featured $.50 refillable soda.)  Further, at this particular Chipotle, the music was pretty loud, which makes it difficult for me to get some last minute reading done before class.

The biggest con (for this location) was the lack of free wifi.  I just assumed every place in the world had free wifi these days.  I tried to straight huss some Burger King wifi to no avail.  This aspect, combined with the music, makes hanging out for a while a bit weird…if I can’t read or check the internet, I’m just kind of sitting there and thinking about the food.  Also I am a bit crazy about refillable soda and justifying two dollar drinks by consuming 75 oz. of soda as quickly as possible to stick it to some shady soda magnate character I’ve concocted in my head.  Moving on.

THE VERDICT: 3.5 stars.  I probably won’t make this an every-week destination due to the price (ed. note: I’m cheap), but if I’m interested in a quick meal before going to the UMKC library to hang out before class, this is the place.

Tagged , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “chipotle: a belated review

  1. Anonymous says:

    So now we can add food critic to your list of the several amazing things you do already! I love you and wish we had a chipoltes here in VA….well, is there one in VA Beach? I’ll check tomorrow! 🙂

  2. Wendy Fox says:

    Hey, you momma is the anonymous person who just commented! Haven’t commented on a blog much!

  3. Emily Keen says:

    Hmmm..makes me want to pig out on the veggie bowl. Their salads are really good too.

  4. Vanessa says:

    I adore their corn salsa. It’s easy to copy at home, too.

Comment

