volunteering update

Our first volunteer opportunity is coming up in about a week, and I’m already super excited.  A friend of ours clued us in to the Greater Kansas City History Day competition, and Ryan and I will be tagging along with our friend and serving as judges this year.  We got our judging assignments a few days ago.  This year’s theme is “Revolution, Reaction, Reform in History.”  It sounds like it’s going to be a ton of fun!  I’ve also never been to the Truman Library so I’m really stoked for this.  We’re probably going to have to take care of most of our volunteering hours over the summer (we’re both really swamped this semester) but in the meantime I am playing phone-tag with someone at 4-H and waiting for them to finish checking my references so hopefully something will materialize with that soon enough.  I’m coming off one hell of a week where I graded almost a hundred papers in about four days, so I have some food updates to do for the blog that I’ll get around to as soon as I can.  It’s hard to believe that we’re already almost at the end of two months of our project!

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “volunteering update

  1. You will have so much fun! I have judged it the past three years in multiple places…it’s so fun!!!!

  2. Gary says:

    Ashley and Ryan, I just want to say how inspirational your blog is and how much I admire your efforts. Whenever I’m feeling a little run down or disillusioned, this is a great place to go to!

    • beethousand says:

      Thanks so much, Gary! It’s really great to have so much support from our friends in this project and this means a lot to us. I still get a little down sometimes, especially when I miss eating meat and wish I had more energy and time for volunteering, but so far it hasn’t been as challenging as I thought it might be.

Comment

